The Melbourn Trophy (MT) started in 1973 as an inter-club knockout 35mm slide competition between 16 local clubs. It became a Projected Digital Image competition in 2008 due to the increasing use of digital cameras over 35mm film.

Following a review in 2015, the MT was relaunched to include 8 participating clubs. The trophy final is hosted by Melbourn and District PC, usually during March (see club programme for actual date), at Foxton Village Hall. The annual winning club is presented with the Melbourn Shield.

For the new MT rules, follow this link


The first rounds, tabled below, must be completed by the end of Nov 2021

Match Club
  Home   Away
1 Shillington 401
V Biggleswade 411
2 Bishop’s Stortford 403
V Stevenage 392
3 Ware 424
V Swavesey 379
4 Royston 389
V Melbourn 416


Melbourn Trophy Final 2021 – 22

The Final was held remotely on Sat 12 March via a Zoom meeting and was judged, at very short notice, by Steffan Nicholson.

Accordingly, after a very close result, the 2021 – 22 Melbourn Trophy was won by Ware (203) followed by Melbourn (202), Bishops Stortford (198) and Biggleswade (198).

Our sincere thanks go the the Judge, Steffan Nicholson, for stepping in at such short notice, for his excellent and perceptive judging and for being prepared to judge the images remotely. Many congratulations go to Ware for their well-deserved win and sincere thanks go to all eight participating clubs for taking the time and effort to compete again this year.